About us

Supporting entrepreneurialism in Helsinki

NewCo Helsinki is a City of Helsinki service that aims to help new businesses and startups succeed. We provide confidential business advisory services to lend a hand to entrepreneurs who are starting a new business and developing their operations. We also assist startups in their efforts to grow and expand to international markets.

Together with our partners and local communities, NewCo Helsinki works to foster the city’s entrepreneurial and startup culture. Among other things, we utilize this collaboration to support promising niche markets that can serve as platforms for new business.

We want Finland’s capital to be a great place to own and operate a profitable business; an ecosystem in which everything associated with running your business works smoothly. We actively promote Helsinki in many forums, in order to attract entrepreneurs and seed funding from around the world.

NewCo Helsinki puts 20 seasoned business advisors with a wide range of competencies and experiences from different disciplines at your disposal. Our services are free-of-charge and open to everyone.

NEWCO HELSINKI IN FIGURES

26 000

Our services have helped create 26,000 companies in Helsinki.  

1992

We have offered personal business advisory services since 1992.  

80%

80% of the companies founded with our help still exist five years later.  

20

You will have the skills of experienced business advisors at your disposal. Twenty business advisors with different backgrounds and competence in different disciplines will guide you along.  

180

Last year, we held 180 training courses and events for the different phases of the entrepreneur’s path.  

1200

Last year, 1,200 new companies were established in Helsinki with the help of our services.  

Mission

The mission of NewCo Helsinki is to increase the number of successful businesses in the Helsinki area by offering services that help entrepreneurs both at the beginning of their journey and when they are seeking growth for their business.

Strategy

We help people in the Helsinki area in becoming entrepreneurs and support their success through versatile services.  Our activities seek to support the goals of the Division of Economic Development of the City of Helsinki and our operational model is based on cooperation with the private sector.

Vision

Helsinki is one of the most fascinating cities in terms of new business. We support local businesses. 

Business advisory services

Toivo Utso

Head of Services
toivo.utso@hel.fi

Hannele Kostiainen

Business Advisor
hannele.kostiainen@hel.fi

Elie El-Khouri

Business Advisor
elie.el-khouri@hel.fi

Jarmo Hakkarainen

Business Advisor
jarmo.hakkarainen@hel.fi

Eveliina Heinonen

Business Advisor
eveliina.heinonen@hel.fi

Valdar Liive

Business Advisor
valdar.liive@hel.fi

Anu Oksanen

Business Advisor
anu.oksanen@hel.fi

Pia Partanen

Business Advisor
pia.partanen@hel.fi

Timo Suokas

Business Advisor
timo.suokas@hel.fi

Liisa Mallat

Planner
liisa.mallat@hel.fi

Growth services team

Timo Helenius

Head of Growth Services
timo.helenius@hel.fi

Gian-Luca Cioletti

Soft Landing Advisory for Foreign Startups, Business Advisory, Health Incubator Helsinki
gianluca.cioletti@hel.fi

Christian Lardot

Health and Wellbeing, Program Lead, Health Incubator Helsinki
christian.lardot@hel.fi

Joni Lehto

Smart & Clean
joni.lehto@hel.fi

Henrik Keinonen

XR & Blockchain
henrik.keinonen@hel.fi

Touko Kontro

Startup Business Advisory
touko.kontro@hel.fi

Teemu Seppälä

Soft Landing Advisory for Foreign Startup
teemu.seppala@hel.fi

Francis Tam

AI
francis.tam@hel.fi

Lauri Määttänen

Program Manager, Growth Services
lauri.maattanen@hel.fi

Mia-Stiina Heikkala

Education, Project Lead, Helsinki Education Hub
mia-stiina.heikkala@hel.fi

Miikka Neuvonen

Community Manager, Helsinki Education Hub
miikka.neuvonen@hel.fi

Ville Bengs

Communications & Marketing, Helsinki Education Hub
ville.bengs@hel.fi

Mikko Armila

NewCo Accelerator
mikko.armila@hel.fi

Jukka Hakola

NewCo Accelerator
jukka.hakola@hel.fi

Harri Hoivala

NewCo Accelerator
harri.hoivala@hel.fi

Eero Nikula

NewCo Accelerator
eero.nikula@hel.fi

Management

Hanne Grönlund

Unit Secretary
hanne.gronlund@hel.fi

Sanna Naumanen

Office Secretary
sanna.naumanen@hel.fi

Markku Tapanimäki

Office Secretary
markku.tapanimaki@hel.fi

Marketing

Klaus Kangaspunta

Marketing Manager
klaus.kangaspunta@hel.fi

Arsi Koskenranta

Marketing Assistant
arsi.koskenranta@hel.fi

Jari Palomäki

Events
jari.palomaki@hel.fi

Helsinki Enterprise Agency

Valentin Babitzin

CEO, Start Plus Specialist,
HUK ry
valentin.babitzin@huk.fi

Helena Pekkarinen

Start Plus Specialist,
HUK ry
helena.pekkarinen@huk.fi

Malina Pursiainen

Start Plus Specialist,
HUK ry
malina.pursiainen@huk.fi