About us

Supporting entrepreneurialism in Helsinki

NewCo Helsinki is a City of Helsinki service that aims to help new businesses and startups succeed. We provide confidential business advisory services to lend a hand to entrepreneurs who are starting a new business and developing their operations. We also assist startups in their efforts to grow and expand to international markets.

Together with our partners and local communities, NewCo Helsinki works to foster the city’s entrepreneurial and startup culture. Among other things, we utilize this collaboration to support promising niche markets that can serve as platforms for new business.

We want Finland’s capital to be a great place to own and operate a profitable business; an ecosystem in which everything associated with running your business works smoothly. We actively promote Helsinki in many forums, in order to attract entrepreneurs and seed funding from around the world.

NewCo Helsinki puts 20 seasoned business advisors with a wide range of competencies and experiences from different disciplines at your disposal. Our services are free-of-charge and open to everyone.

NEWCO HELSINKI IN FIGURES

25 000

Our services have helped create 25,000 companies in Helsinki.  

1992

We have offered personal business advisory services since 1992.  

80%

80% of the companies founded with our help still exist five years later.  

20

You will have the skills of experienced business advisors at your disposal. Twenty business advisors with different backgrounds and competence in different disciplines will guide you along.  

180

Last year, we held 180 training courses and events for the different phases of the entrepreneur’s path.  

1000

Last year, 1,000 new companies were established in Helsinki with the help of our services.  

Mission

The mission of NewCo Helsinki is to increase the number of successful businesses in the Helsinki area by offering services that help entrepreneurs both at the beginning of their journey and when they are seeking growth for their business.

Strategy

We help people in the Helsinki area in becoming entrepreneurs and support their success through versatile services.  Our activities seek to support the goals of the Division of Economic Development of the City of Helsinki and our operational model is based on cooperation with the private sector.

Vision

Helsinki is one of the most fascinating cities in terms of new business. We support local businesses. 

Business advisory services

Hannele Kostiainen

Head of Services
hannele.kostiainen@hel.fi

Toivo Utso

Senior Advisor
toivo.utso@hel.fi

Elie El-Khouri

Business Advisor
elie.el-khouri@hel.fi

Eveliina Heinonen

Business Advisor
eveliina.heinonen@hel.fi

Valdar Liive

Business Advisor
valdar.liive@hel.fi

Susanne Mulbah

Business Advisor
Susanne.Mulbah@hel.fi

Tatu Palomäki

Business Advisor
tatu.palomaki@hel.fi

Timo Suokas

Business Advisor
timo.suokas@hel.fi

Roger Törnblom

Business Advisor
roger.tornblom@hel.fi

Liisa Mallat

Planner
liisa.mallat@hel.fi

Growth services team

Timo Helenius

Head of Growth Services
timo.helenius@hel.fi

Gian-Luca Cioletti

Soft Landing Advisory for Foreign Startups, Business Advisory, Health Incubator Helsinki
gianluca.cioletti@hel.fi

Mia-Stiina Heikkala

Education
mia-stiina.heikkala@hel.fi

Christian Lardot

Health and Wellbeing, Program Lead, Health Incubator Helsinki
christian.lardot@hel.fi

Joni Lehto

Smart & Clean
joni.lehto@hel.fi

Henrik Keinonen

XR & Blockchain
henrik.keinonen@hel.fi

Touko Kontro

Startup Business Advisory
touko.kontro@hel.fi

Miikka Neuvonen

Startup Business Advisory
miikka.neuvonen@hel.fi

Vesa Raudasoja

Gaming
vesa.raudasoja@hel.fi

Francis Tam

AI
francis.tam@hel.fi

Oki Tåg

FinTech
oki.tag@hel.fi

Lauri Määttänen

Program Manager, Growth Services
lauri.maattanen@hel.fi

Mikko Armila

NewCo Accelerator
mikko.armila@hel.fi

Jukka Hakola

NewCo Accelerator
jukka.hakola@hel.fi

Harri Hoivala

NewCo Accelerator
harri.hoivala@hel.fi

Eero Nikula

NewCo Accelerator
eero.nikula@hel.fi

Ola Sundell

NewCo Accelerator
ola.sundell@hel.fi

Management

Tommo Koivusalo

Head of Unit
tommo.koivusalo@hel.fi

Hanne Grönlund

Unit Secretary
hanne.gronlund@hel.fi

Tiina Brummer

Office Secretary
tiina.brummer@hel.fi

Sanna Naumanen

Office Secretary
sanna.naumanen@hel.fi

Marketing

Klaus Kangaspunta

Marketing Manager
klaus.kangaspunta@hel.fi

Arsi Koskenranta

Marketing Assistant
arsi.koskenranta@hel.fi

Jari Palomäki

Events
jari.palomaki@hel.fi

Helsinki Enterprise Agency

Valentin Babitzin

CEO, Start Plus Specialist,
HUK ry
valentin.babitzin@huk.fi

Helena Pekkarinen

Start Plus Specialist,
HUK ry
helena.pekkarinen@huk.fi

Malina Pursiainen

Start Plus Specialist,
HUK ry
malina.pursiainen@huk.fi

Tilaa uutiskirjeemme

Uutiskirjeissämme tarjoamme sinulle kattavan paketin niin yrittäjyydestä, Helsingin startup-kentän viimeisimmät kuulumiset kuin erilaisista tapahtumista ja koulutuksista, joiden avulla yrityksesi menestyy.

Kiitos tilauksesta!

Subscribe to the newsletter

Our newsletters will provide you with comprehensive information on entrepreneurship, the latest updates from the startup scene in Helsinki and different events and training opportunities that will help your business thrive.

Thank you!

Tilaa uutiskirjeemme

Uutiskirjeissämme tarjoamme sinulle kattavan paketin Helsingin startup-kentän viimeisimmistä kuulumisista sekä erilaisista tapahtumista ja koulutuksista.

Kiitos tilauksesta!

Prenumerera på nyhetsbrevet

Våra nyhetsbrev kommer att ge dig omfattande information om entreprenörskap, de senaste uppdateringarna från startscenen i Helsingfors och olika evenemang och utbildningsmöjligheter som hjälper ditt företag att frodas.

Tack så mycket!